PB&J Smoothie

So, I started making smoothies with regular vanilla yogurt.  Then, I experimented with vanilla Greek yogurt and soon after plain Greek yogurt.  Then I did the whole cottage cheese thing.  All of these were successful!  I’ve been happy with almost every smoothie I’ve made and will continue to use those proteins in my smoothies.  Today I tried something new.  PEANUTS!  I tried a couple of different recipes today…one a little “safer” and another more adventurous.  I liked them both.  Here they are:

PB&J Smoothie

1/3-1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts (I put mine in my blender and pulsed them until they were powdery.  I’ve read that you can use a coffee grinder as well.)

1-15oz can pears (in 100% fruit juice)

1 cup frozen raspberries

This was really good.  It really made me think of peanut butter and jelly.

Now, if you’re feeling adventurous, make that smoothie and add:

about 1 handful of kale (remember, I have small hands)

1 banana

2-3 tsp flax oil

Mmmmmmm…I have some of the “adventurous” one set aside for my kids’ after school snack. It will be interesting to see what they think.  I’m planning to experiment with other nuts as well…stay tuned!

*Although nuts are known to provide a variety of cardio-protective benefits, many avoid them for fear of weight gain. A prospective study published in the journal Obesity shows such fears are groundless. In fact, people who eat nuts at least twice a week are much less likely to gain weight than those who almost never eat nuts.

* http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=101 

IMG_0450

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

