Zucchini Strawberry Smoothie

One of the perks of summer is gardening.  And I happen to know a wonderful gardener!  I get the fresh veggies but don’t have to do the work!  I grew up thinking the only thing zucchini was good for was making a sweet bread out of it.  Which is delicious!!  But I decided to see what else I could do with it so I threw some in the blender.

Zucchini Strawberry Smoothie

1 cup Minute Maid  Pomegranate Blueberry Juice

1/2 zucchini

2 cups frozen strawberries

1 banana

3/4 cup-1 cup plain Greek yogurt

First, add the juice and the sliced zucchini to the blender and mix it up a bit.  Then add the rest and blend until it’s smooth and creamy.  This wasn’t exceptionally sweet  so if you need a little more sweetness, use vanilla Greek yogurt instead of plain.  I’m sure that would be delicious!

This made about 4 1/2 cups of smoothie.  Divide that up how you like…or just drink it all!!  If we ever have extra for the day, I put it in a glass bottle and stick it in the fridge.  We save and wash our Snapple bottles…they’re perfect!  It should be ok if you drink it within a couple of days.  It’ll need a good shake first!

Another perk to summer for us is sleeping in.  Therefore, my kids are still in bed so I haven’t gotten their opinions yet!  This is a very pretty smoothie though.  I have a feeling they’re going to love it!

*Both protein and fiber are good for your diet.  Dietary fiber helps to bond vitamins and minerals for the best nutritional delivery, and protein gives you energy for the day. Both of these are in zucchini in significant amounts.

*http://www.3fatchicks.com/7-health-benefits-of-zucchini/

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

