Watermelon Happiness Smoothie

WOW!  It’s been a really long time since I’ve blogged about a smoothie or juice!!  We do not go a day without having one though.  Some good, some O.K.  I thought the one I made today was special though so I decided to share it.  I’ve changed my formula a tad.  Check it out!

Watermelon Happiness Smoothie

about 1/4 small watermelon (mine was seedless.)

1 handful Organic Girl Five Happiness (it’s a blend of Chinese baby bok choy leaves and other sweet baby greens.)

1 large banana

about 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

My watermelon was exceptionally juicy today!  Full of flavor too!  I would have added more of the greens if I had more.  I’ve been using Greek yogurt for the extra protein.  I started a while back with vanilla Greek yogurt for the sweetness to ween my family off regular vanilla yogurt.  That’s been successful and I’m mostly using PLAIN Greek now!  That means less sugar!! I’ve even thought about experimenting with cottage cheese.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

The kids really liked this one.  It’s pretty refreshing.  If you want it slushier, you could add ice.  We kind of liked it thin though.  Enjoy!

*Watermelon is not only great on a hot summer day, this delectable thirst-quencher may also help quench the inflammation that contributes to conditions like asthma, atherosclerosis, diabetes, colon cancer, and arthritis.

*http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=31

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

