Pineapple Strawberry Kale Smoothie

I have to admit…I’m a little shocked right this very minute!  I just made a smoothie with a fairly large leaf of kale in it.  I gave a smaller than normal portion to my son and disclosed what was in it before he started drinking it.  My daughter was in the room and asked for a small glass too!  They both heard me say kale!  We are making some serious progress here, people!!

Pineapple Strawberry Kale Smoothie

20 oz can pineapple tidbits (in pineapple juice)

2 cups strawberry (I used frozen.)

1 kale leaf

1 banana

I strained the juice from the pineapple can into the blender.  It ended up being about a cup of pineapple juice.  Then, I broke the kale leaf into pieces and added it to the juice.  Mix that up really well!  We’re trying to get the kale blended so no one can complain!  Add the pineapple pieces from the can and mix.  Then the strawberry and banana.  This is actually a pretty ugly smoothie.  I’m surprised my kids didn’t complain about it at all!  I could taste the kale in this.  Again, I can’t believe my kids didn’t complain!  The kale is masked by the pineapple, but I could still taste it.  I thought for sure they’d hate this!!  WOOHOO!

*One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

*http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-kale

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

