Romaine Smoothie

My sister  recently shared a smoothie recipe with me that had spinach in it.  I tweaked it a little, using Organic Girl Baby Romaine, and made sure to not tell my kids it had the greens in it until after they said they liked it!  I always disclose to them when they’re having a vegetable or other “different” ingredient.  I want them to know that it’s not as scary as they think it is!  Sometimes I wait until after they eat it though!

Romaine Smoothie

1 banana

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1 nectarine

handful of herb baby romaine

1/2 cup milk (more or less depending on how thick you want it)

1/3 cup vanilla yogurt

Mix it up and serve!  The ingredients in my green mixture had baby green and red romaine lettuce, lolla rosa, parsley, cilantro, and baby greenleaf lettuce.  I think the red romaine helped give it a pretty color.  I could definitely taste the herbs in this.  It was very “fresh” tasting.  Not too much though.  I’m kind of weird about cilantro, and while I could taste it, I could taste a lot of the other ingredients too.  GOOD STUFF!

*Due to its extremely low-calorie content and high water volume, romaine lettuce–while often overlooked in the nutrition world–is actually a very nutritious food. Based on its nutrient richness, our food ranking system qualified it as an excellent source of vitamin A (notably through its concentration of the pro-vitamin A carotenoid, beta-carotene), vitamin K, folate, and vitamin C. Romaine lettuce also emerged from our ranking system as a very good source of dietary fiber and 4 minerals.

*http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=61

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

