Mango!

A lot of the recipes in my book “Cool Smoothies” call for mango.  I’m pretty sure up until this morning, I’d never tried a mango.  I’ve had juices and things with that flavor, but I’ve never actually tried one!  I kinda liked it!  It reminded me of a pineapple, only smoother and kind of creamy.  I was excited for it in this smoothie!

Sittin’ By The Dock On The Bay

1 1/2 cups pineapple juice or orange juice, chilled (I used orange juice and added a couple of                                                                                       pineapple chunks.)

6 oz low-fat vanilla yogurt

1 banana, peeled, sliced

1 mango, peeled, sliced

I put the orange juice in the blender and each thing I added, I blended.  I blended a little longer this morning hoping to get my smoothie mixed up better than I have been.  I think the ingredients I used helped also.  My book says it makes 1 smoothie but I got a couple out of it.  It was tasty!  Both kids liked it fine.  A good way for me to tell if they “liked” it or not was how quickly they drink it.  It didn’t take too long!  WINNER!

*In general, mango is rich in vitamins and minerals. It is also rich in pre-biotic dietary fiber and contains a lot of antioxidants. If you wish to add more vitamin, minerals and fiber into your diet, then mango would be the right choice.

from: http://mangonutritionfacts.org/

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

