This Beets Medicine!

It’s funny how kids never want to take medicine.  People formulate these special flavors to alter the taste of medicine so it will taste better.  They even have fruit flavored medicine!  Well, what if you could just eat/drink the actual fruit?  Pure, natural goodness!  Forget the chemicals and whatever else is in the stuff the doctors prescribe!  Mother nature is the best pharmacist, in my opinion!  I ALWAYS go the natural route first!!  ALWAYS!  Recently, a friend of mine has been having stomach troubles.  At first, she thought it was a bug.  But after the pain got unbearable for her, she decided she needed to go to the doctor to find out if it was something more serious.  Her doctors were thinking gall bladder problems.  I headed straight for my juice book when I heard this.  The book recommends apples, beet (beetroot), grapefruits, and yogurt.  I found a recipe that I thought would be tolerable for her and I whipped it up!  Yup!  BEETS!

Beet Basic

2 beets (I used 1 1/2 since she’s not used to drinking beet juice…and I think they’re yucky!)

2 carrots

1 apple

1 orange

1 stick celery

1/2 inch ginger root

I tasted it before I sent it to my friend.  It was definitely beety tasting.  It was tolerable…not great though.  I asked her how it was.  She had a good description of “earthy”.  If it worked, I’d go this route before medicine any day!  Plus, it makes a beautiful juice!

Stars: 4 energy, 4 detox, 4 immunity, 3 digestion, 4 skin.

This entry was posted in Juices and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

