Avocado Smoothie

A couple of us in this house have New Year’s resolutions.  Mine, is to firm up my butt.  I think it’s do-able.  It will require much working out.  I go in spurts with that.  There will be times when I’ll do it 7 days a week.  Then, other times I can’t do 1 day!  I just have to get back in the motion.  I was successful yesterday!  Gotta stick with it!

My son also has a resolution.  To gain weight!  He’s 11 and very athletic.  He loves all sports.  He plays basketball, football, and baseball.  He just likes being active!  Anyway, he’s super skinny so I’m trying to beef him up with some muscle.  This will be a challenge because he already has a hefty appetite, which doesn’t show!  He also doesn’t like eggs, which I think would help give him healthy bulk.  So I’ve fallen back on smoothies.  I bought some whole milk (we normally drink skim) and vowed to make him a smoothie every morning for breakfast.  The one I normally make is milk, a banana, and Ovaltine.  The kids love this one!  But I have 2 new books from Christmas and I’m feeling adventurous!  I’ve heard good things about avocados.  They’re a good fatty fruit and make a smoothie very rich and creamy.  I decided to give this recipe a try.  (I actually found it on http://www.allrecipes.com )

Avocado Smoothie

1 ripe avocado, halved and pitted

1 cup milk (I used skim since the avocado is “fatty”)

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

3 tablespoons honey

8 ice cubes (we left these out)

You throw all of these things in the blender and mix until creamy.

I gave each of the kids and myself a small glass.  It was very sweet and avocado-y tasting.  The honey was a little overpowering and I honestly think the ice would have helped in this one!  My daughter and I both finished ours.  We didn’t love it.  My son told me after he took a swig, “No offense, but I almost accidentally threw up just now.”  haha  So, none of us liked it.  I’m not completely giving up on avocados yet!  I’ll try some other recipes and share them when I forget about the taste of this morning’s smoothie!

Avocado Smoothie

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avocado Smoothie

  1. Melissa says:

    Cecilia loooooooooooves avocados. Try smashing some on a piece of toast, then sprinkling on some garlic salt…that’s a favorite breakfast for Cel. She also adores guacamole.

  2. bigandjuicy says:

    Interesting. I’m not sure Carter would go for that. I don’t even know if he likes guacamole! We’ll have to do that sometime too!

  3. Jen! says:

    The best avocado consumption I can tolerate is MY guacamole…..with chips, of course:
    1 Avocado
    1/4 Diced White Onion
    1 Diced Tomato
    4-6 TBSP Sour Cream
    Black Pepper to taste
    Lemon Juice to taste
    Heavy on the garlic salt (to taste)

    Mix!

Leave a Reply

