Tutti-Frutti Smoothie

I’ve found the solution for when the juicer’s in the dishwasher!  SMOOTHIES!  You use a blender for these which ends up making more dishes to beef up your dishwasher load!  TA-DA!  Mine is running as we speak with the juicer AND the blender in it!  “The Big Book Of Juices” has a “frozen fruit quenchers” section in it where you can get a bunch of recipes.  Also, I received a smoothie book for Christmas in addition to the juice book!  It’s called “Cool Smoothies”  http://www.amazon.com/Cool-Smoothies-Fast-Frozen-Treats/dp/1597690422/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1325356500&sr=8-1 Amazon has it for $727.08!  What a great deal! (sarcasm) It’s a pretty informative book with tasty recipes, but I wouldn’t say it’s worth $727.08.  It looks like you can get a used copy for much less!  I’m sure if you couldn’t get your hands on this exact book, you could find an equally good smoothie book.

So, this morning, I made 2 different smoothies to share with the whole family.  They had a small amount to sample while I filled myself up on goodness!  Really, I got pretty full!

Berry-Carrot Juicer

1/2 cup apple juice, chilled (I used Simply Apple)

1/2 cup low-fat milk

8 baby carrots

1 cup frozen mixed berries (I didn’t have this so I threw in 1/2 cup fresh strawberries (stems removed) and 1/2 cup blackberries)

Place all ingredients in a blender with 1 cup ice cubes and process until creamy.  Makes 1 smoothie.

This one wasn’t bad.  Especially considering you get your carrots and some protein from the milk in there!  It wasn’t very sweet, but everyone drank it without complaint!

I also made….

Tutti-Frutti Smoothie

1 cup orange juice, chilled (I used Simply Orange-High Pulp)

1 ripe banana, peeled, sliced

1 ripe peach, cut into chunks

1 cup frozen strawberries

Pour orange juice into blender and add banana, peach, strawberries, and 1 cup ice cubes.  Blend on high speed until creamy.  Makes 2 smoothies.  (I didn’t add the ice cubes…I prefer it without.)

We all agreed that this one was tastier.  I think next time, I’ll try it with fresh strawberries!

*Here’s a little strawberry tip I got from http://www.Pinterest.com http://pinterest.com/pin/177962622744860217/

This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

